Denise Storm

Broker Associate

Ouray County Communities We Serve

Ouray County

Ouray County real estate presents unlimited possibilities on Colorado's Western Slope. Real estate in Ouray County is accessible, affordable, and comes in all shapes and sizes. There are private homes for sale that have one or two bedrooms, and there are houses for sale that are much larger, with five or six total bedrooms. Ouray County offers the opportunity to live in a small- or medium-sized town or a more remote location, far removed from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Ouray County has a population of approximately 4,800 residents. It has two home-rule municipalities, the city of Ouray and the town of Ridgway. Loghill Village is an affluent residential community, and Portland and Colona are well-to-do census-designated sites in the county. There are a few unincorporated communities, like Camp Bird, Dallas, Eldredge, and Thistledown. Dallas and Eldredge are within the valleys of the San Juan Mountains. Colona is in a short stretch of the Uncompahgre Valley. The towns of Sneffels and Ironton are further west from Camp Bird, south of Ouray.

There are homes for sale all over Ouray County. Many homes are in the county's southern portion along Highway 550 from Portland to Ouray. There are also beautiful houses for sale just west of Portland in a remote area that's only a short drive from all the services in the town of Ouray. This county area also has vacant lots and pastureland available to build a future home. There are exclusive homes in Loghill Village that can exceed $1 million. Many lots are for sale in the $100,000 to $150,000 range. The village's convenience to nearby Ridgway State Park makes it an attractive buy.

When you're known as the "Switzerland of America," you have some pretty big shoes to fill. But Colorado's Ouray County fits the bill perfectly, with its numerous parks and hiking and biking trails to match its incredible ski terrain. The county is a haven for outdoor recreation on the Western Slope, with the Uncompahgre National Forest, Mount Sneffels Wilderness, and the Uncompahgre Wilderness. Scenic roads, like the Alpine Loop National Scenic Back Country Byway and San Juan Skyway National Scenic Byway, crisscross the county. The Great Parks Bicycle Route and Western Express Bicycle Route also run through Ouray County.

Neighborhood highlights:

Ouray County is named after Chief Ouray, a distinguished Ute Indian chief.

In 1881, Dolores County was formed out of Ouray County. In 1883, Ouray County was split into San Miguel County and what is currently Ouray County. The Ouray County Courthouse was built in Ouray in 1888 and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

The highest mountain in Ouray County is Mount Sneffels, at 14,150 feet above sea level. The county has several peaks higher than 13,300 feet.

The Elks Lodge of Ouray is home to a classic bowling alley that uses human-operated pins. Manual pin-sitters are used to set the tenpins for bowling on the club's pair of vintage wood bowling lanes. There is a member's bowling league in the winter.